One Nation, Under Ian

Nation of Ulysses, my latest audio crush, arrived twofold yesterday in the shape of 7″ 45s (they may not have been 45s now that I think about it, but really, who’s keeping score?). The first, pictured here, was 1990’s self-titled, three tracker (Sound of Young America, Channel 1 Ulysses, and Atom Bomb), while the second was of the 1991 persuasion with The Birth of the Ulysses Aesthetic (The Synthesis of Speed and Transformation). Tracks contained therein are The Sound of Jazz to Come, N.O.U.S.P.T.D.A, and Presidents of Vice. For you hardcore-garage-art-rock-types, these are exceptional, and surprisingly inexpensive finds. Raise the flag and drop the needle. Tell ’em The Groove sent ‘ya.

Kids, Don’t Rat on Your Friends

Kids...Today’s midday gesture of obscenities to the neighbors (who are all lovely, btw) came in the form of tangerine sweetness offered directly from Dischord Records. Fellow wallmates need a sudden and unscheduled jolt of energy every once in a while. They’ve said as much, if only in my head. At the very least, exposure is an educational experience.

Spreading the fear of violence through the comforts of vinyl since 2013. – The Prudent Groove

Orange You A Fan of this 13-Point Plan to Destroy America?

UlyssesOriginally released in ’91 on Ian MacKaye’s Dischord records, DC’s The Nation of Ulysses unleashed an intensely uncompromising hardcore classic with their debut, 13-Point Plan to Destroy America. This citrus flavored beaut is limited to 1000 copies and was released back in ’08. If you’ve not heard Ulysses, think of a slightly more loosely formed Fugazi on four pots of double brewed coffee. Not your grandfather’s music, unless your grandfather was a former rager, but 13-Point is perfect, among several other times, for late Friday afternoons at work after an excruciatingly busy week.

Happy Friday, kids, and RIP Mr. Spock!

Four Old Seven Inches On A Twelve Inch

12Dischord Records did a remarkable thing for fans of early, D.C. based hardcore. Back in July of 2007, the label, owned by Minor Threat frontman and drummer, Ian MacKaye and Jeff Nelson, reissued four, LONG out of print 7” EPs as the 12” comp, Four Old Seven Inches On A Twelve Inch.

When you consider how much these original records sell for (brace yourself, because this is crazy: Teen Idles – Minor Disturbance E.P. – $750, S.O.A. – No Policy E.P. – $450, Government Issue – Legless Bull E.P. – $208.35, and Youth Brigade – Possible E.P. – $538.40), fans of the genre, like myself, may not otherwise have heard these historic rants had a compilation such as this not been released. Totaling $1946.75 for the originals, the $12 price of the comp still doesn’t seem so bad.